http://www.theprovince.com/news/vancouver/students+taking+extra+precautions+after+series+sexual/9059436/story.html

That’s me, and my beautiful I-hardly-slept-and-now-I-have-to-work-all-day-please-get-that-camera-out-of-my-face-sir face. 

 

Oh let’s be honest, that’s my face any day. 

 

Displeased facial expression aside, as the article explains, three confirmed sexual assault attacks have occurred on my campus, near my home and place of occupation, since the end of September (a fourth unconfirmed is rumored). I work at odd hours and there is little hours of daylight lately, in addition to one insane fog for the past week. Needless to say, my life feels a little like a horror movie during parts of the day.

Let me just explain that this campus, this is my safe haven. We aren’t in the city, and anyone attacking people must live here. We are our own town of knowledge and innovative global thinking, NOT backwards, barbaric, misogynistic actions.

 

I want my bubble of university to be safe again.

 

But so many people live in a world much scarier than this. One major potential sex offender in a population of over 60,000 really isn’t that bad, especially when that population has it’s own RCMP station to serve it. I worry about the safety of my fellow student body, but more than that, I worry about the safety of my fellow human beings. So to make this blog post short and sweet, be safe out there world, and take care of each other.  

