Do you ever tell yourself that you should sit down and write, only to feel that nothing worth writing about has happened in your life? This was me. All summer.

Don’t get me wrong, I did things in the last couple of months. I’ve been hiking, helping around the house, taking krav maga classes, spending time with family and friends at the beach…but other than that, all I’ve really been doing is reading. I thought I would blog about my time spent preparing for exchange, but other than a day trip to San Francisco (or Mission: storm the consulate, as I like to refer to it) for my study permit processing, it hasn’t been all that riveting of a process.

My summer has instead been one of that spent reading, and I have loved every adventurous moment of it. Summer has always been my favorite time to get cozy with a good book and simply slip into the escape of a world more thrilling than that of concrete covered San Jose, and that is exactly what I did this summer, foregoing usual responsibilities such as finding a job or preparing for the oncoming semester.

Mostly I have been reading The Mortal Instruments series. I read the first novel, City of Bones, around winter time. I had seen the movie last summer, and, contrary to the majority of critics, I absolutely loved it. I could tell it was cheesy and I simply didn’t care; it was enthralling. And so, with school over by May 1st, I went to reading the second novel, City of Ashes, which quickly led to an entire entrapment I felt come over me by the series, and before I knew it I had read all six novels.

Now don’t get me wrong, the series isn’t the most mature or developed piece of literature I’ve read, and anyone who’s read fanficition before can identify the similar writing styles (that is the origin of the series). What I love so much about the series, something I loved in the other novel I read this summer, The Maze Runner, something I have loved in few series passed, and what will keep me reading Clare’s work so long as she is publishing it, is the sheer strength and bravery of the characters. Harry Potter, The Hunger Games, The Inheritance Cycle, The Unwind Dystology, and The Divergent Trilogy have all had this in them and found special places in my heart for it. Yes, I am a little too YA driven. I can’t help it; I’m drawn to action, passion, and bravery beyond all else. They inspire me to be strong and agile in both mind and body, and they lead me to believe that I am capable of incredible feats.

My mother gets annoyed at how much time I spend reading, but I can’t help it, and I wouldn’t change it if I could. What about The Mortal Instruments that especially draws me in is the idea that this entire world exists within our own, and we are just too blind to see it. That extraordinary things can happen to ordinary people. I already know I’ll be looking for my own extraordinary adventures in life, starting when I get on that plane to Norway in two and a half weeks.

If you’ve made it this far, thanks for reading my ramblings! I’ll try to post more before and after I leave. For now I’ll leave you with a quote:

“A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies. The man who never reads lives only once.”-George R.R. Martin

